Feed Item

Hi,  I'm new to Jericho Writers and just feeling my way into the Townhouse and all the great Jericho materials. I live 8 months each year in West Kerry, Ireland and spend 4 months over the northern winter in Melbourne, Australia. I started out writing short plays then moved into children's fiction with one picture book successfully published by Penguin Australia/NZ and two ready to go out into the world of agents and publishers. Some Australian and Irish publishers will still read manuscripts sent to them direct - does this ever happen in other countries?  Recently I have started to write a commercial fiction/women's/book club novel located (you guessed!) in Australia and Ireland. When I'm not writing I'm studying for a Masters Degree online, playing saxophone, giving workshops on healthy ageing, running, growing/selling organic vegetables, helping to run an arts festival and a food festival, travelling and other good stuff. I want writing to be a bigger part of 2020.  I'd like to think that one published book wasn't a total fluke but I didn't really want to write picture books so it was a bit of a dead end.  I need to take my writing more seriously to see what is possible. That's why I'm here in Jericho Writers.

Comments
  • Hello, Jill

Just joined the Townhouse myself. Met a few interesting writers so far. I think it's wise of you to pursue the literary areas you feel most comfortable in. If picture books aren't your passion, then so be it. I too need to tackle my writing a bit more seriously from now on. I've got two books completed and a rough draft of another, plus six more are in my head that need to come out sooner or later. I had no idea learning the craft of writing would be so hard. I should have joined the circus instead and just learned how to catch bullets in my teeth. It would have been a lot easier🙂

0 0 0 0 0 0
    • Hello Jill and Ed,