Feed Item
Added a post  to  , Historical Fiction

I'd love to know what eras you're all writing about? Do you tend to stay within one period or move around? 

Comments
  • I base stories in a range of periods - Georgian, Edwardian, Victorian (lots of Victorian), the world wars. The current project is set in the 1970s. It helps that I'm a history grad and have always loved the subject. I've watched a lot of docs, read a lot of books round these periods and am fascinated by the day to day lives of folk, what they ate, how they washed their clothes etc. I like the research 😀

0 0 0 0 0 0
    • I am writing in the period of the last 1930s and 1940s United States and Western Canada. It's being told chronologically - at least right now! - so it's a straight up story with no overlap of periods.

0 0 0 0 0 0
      • Upon further reflection... I'd really love to write (and read) fiction set in prehistoric times, but obviously the research here is trickier! My favourite historical novel is The Gathering Night by Margaret Elphinstone, which is set during the Mesolithic period. I have dreams of something vaguely comparable set around a post-Ice Age lake near where I live now- the shoreline is still visible now, with the contrasting peat and sandy soil. I find that so extraordinary that I'd love to write about it somehow.

0 0 0 0 0 0