Feed Item

Here in the Netherlands they've just tightened restrictions again and if this doesn't work (if people don't follow the rules - they've been pretty slack, annoyingly) then we'll go into full lock down again. I noticed that schools in Prague have closed again and there are likely to be more closures. Do you feel more equipped to cope with homeschooling if it happened again? I just feel a huge sense of dread, but I think I -and the kids - would find it less bewildering at least. 

Comments
  • Best wishes to all facing local uncertainties! I’m slightly amazed to have had one full month of my son being at school, but I’m well aware that could change again in a moment. I wouldn’t relish another stint of homeschooling, but I’m mentally prepared for it if necessary.

0 0 0 0 0 0
    • I’m a teacher at secondary level and have really enjoyed being back at work despite the difficulties of teaching whilst maintaining distance. Boris seems to be only able to say ‘shalln’t’ at present to any suggestions made by anyone other than his inner circle so I doubt England will have lockdown anytime soon. I found the idea of homeschooling daunting because my natural tendency is to allow my daughter to spend time learning what interests her, so I then panic I haven’t done enough maths and English with her. I just want her to be happy but I realise she also needs to feel up-to-date on returning to school...the self-doubt is huge on my behalf, but I honestly believe keeping happy is the priority for everyone. I don’t agree we’ll have a lost generation as some say, I think we’ll find all sorts of positives. As for writing, there was a black hole that sucked every opportunity up for peace and quiet from March to August, but moving house didn’t help. Any subsequent lockdown will be handled by giving daughter my credit card and retreating to the spare room to write until the bailiffs come knocking.  

0 0 0 0 0 0