My first 'short story'

Hi, 

I would be really grateful and interested in people's thoughts on this, my first short story. (I am an experienced playwright who recently wrote a novel which I am trying to get published, but I've never written anything like this before)

Two things I'm interested in, firstly if the actual words work! I know it is not a traditional short story, at times it feels more like a long poem, and I know that it may not be to everyone's taste. But I am keen to see how people interpret or respond to it. Secondly, I would appreciate thoughts on what could be done with this in terms of 'getting it out there' I am guessing there are short story competitions, also I wonder how easy it might be to get short stories submitted to journals or magazines etc. Linked to this is the question of whether agents or publishers are open to approach with short stories rather than novels. Do you have to have a collection?

PS. I watched a SFoW webinar last week with two agents, and one of them said that a real 'no no' for them is any novel that begins with someone waking up. I have heard this sort of criticism before, and I get that it is a cliché, but in my defence, this story's timespan is only about an hour, and for reasons that I hope are clear, I wanted to watch my protagonist wake up. Is that REALLY a deal breaker???

0 0 0 0 0 0
Attachments
Replies (53)
    • Oh gosh, it certainly works for me. Whatever it is, I felt it. I’ll be intrigued to see what feedback and advice others offer, but I was definitely  moved by it. Thanks for sharing.

0 0 0 0 0 0
      • Thank you CatherineDj! That's very kind of you. I'm glad you got it.

0 0 0 0 0 0
      • Beautiful David. A very emotive piece. These are a few of my favourite lines...

Before the first lie is spoken. Before most have woken.

Connie speaks to him sometimes, when she forgets he’s gone, or most times when she remembers.

Using buttery fingers, he licked the bowl clean. Like the child they never had.