The melancholy decline of the semicolon

Good morning all,

I very rarely post but this one is a topic near and dear to my heart and I found this article very interesting. It is about the semicolon. I discover that I want to use it a lot, if for no other reason than to make my short sentences longer. Not a very good reason, I know.

This is the link, hope you enjoy it and possibly useful. The article is from The Post, on the UnHerd site.

https://unherd.com/thepost/the-melancholy-decline-of-the-semicolon/?utm_source=pocket-newtab-global-en-GB

Cheers,

Mike

mike-lampe.com

0 0 0 0 0 0
Replies (11)
    • Thanks for sharing, Mike – a very interesting article.

When I first started working as an editor I was told to treat semicolons as a way of connecting two discrete but related sentences, the idea being that the semicolon represents a slightly softer break than a full stop (it can be thought of as a hinge between sentences). Thus, the text on either side of a semicolon should function as a complete sentence, and one should be able to replace the semicolon with a full stop without having to make any changes to the text. For me, the strength of this approach is that it gives the semicolon a clear role, and ensures it can’t just be swapped with a colon or dash.

It’s interesting that the article cites Jane Austen as putting the semicolon to “best use”, because in fact Austen uses it in ways other than that which I’ve described, no doubt a reflection of the fact that the ‘rules’ governing semicolon use have changed over time.