Help - confused...what to do next

Hello everyone

I'm brand new to writing. I've had a story that has been rattling around and developing, then I finally started to put fingers to keyboard last year. I'm at the point now where I think I've told the story I wanted and added as much as I think I can. I've read and re-read a couple of times.

So I have this e-manuscript and I don't know what to do next. The reality is, as this is my first book, I don't even know if the story would be good enough to print. I cannot find anyone I know to even read it (I guess my circle of friends don't like Sci-Fi), never mind critique it.

I've asked other forums and been landed with contradictory answers, which doesn't help. For example, some questions with some responses I've received:

-Should I use beta readers (free or paid)? Yes; No, Cannot be trusted

-Do I need a beta reader before of after an editor? Before; After ; don't need them (I honestly got cold feet after hearing some horror stories)

-Do I need a proof reader? Maybe; Yes

-Do I need to copyright my book? Yes; No

-In which order do I look for a beta reader, editor, proof reader, publisher, etc? (Take your pick on this one)

So, as you can imagine, I'm confused. All I want is someone to say if it's worth pursuing or not. If it is, then what next; if not, I'm happy that I've been able to put something down in the form of a story. 

As for the story itself, it's Sci-Fi / AI related; approx 81k words; POV is 3rd person with some dialogue; there is violence and death involved. There is also a twist...

Blurb would be:

A small group of scientists are tasked with a project of creating the worlds 1st true AI. Having overcome some initial issues, and as the team feels it is nearing success, doubts the over morality of the project appear, as well as sinister figures who are keeping a close watch on the project.

Any guidance would be really great!

0 0 0 0 0 0
Replies (14)