Agent: Yes or No?

Good day everyone!

I am brand new here- I'm looking for a writing community to become involved in to help myself with motivation, and to learn some of the details. I have never tried publishing before, but am working on a novel that I would very much like to publish. There is so much information, and misinformation, all over the place regarding publishing, and I barely know where to begin. What is the benefit of having an agent? Is an agent necessary, or if you're willing to do the research and contact yourself, is it acceptable to send your own submissions to publishers? What exactly is an agent's role? Pros and cons?

I am a kindergartener in regards to this topic- please answer accordingly! 😅 

0 0 0 0 0 0
Replies (3)
    • Hi, 

It's a very big topic but I'll try to cover the basics. How you want to be published will determine if you need an agent. 

1. You can self-publish — you can publish your novel yourself on Amazon and you don't need an agent for that. The great thing is that you have total control, however that also means you will have to do your own marketing and publicity and it will be difficult to get your book in main book stores.

2. Small press — there are some small press and indie publishers who accept submissions straight from the author. They are smaller outfits so they don't have the same resources as the big publishers especially regarding, publicity, marketing and distribution, but because they are smaller they can offer a more personal feel. The publisher will buy the rights to your book and then you will work with an editor to make sure your book is in the best shape possible before publication.