Feedback on Chapter 1 and 2

Hello

I am definitely feeling a bit anxious right now!  I am quite new to writing and haven't shared my work outside of a couple of family members, however, I often read through comments on this thread and I have already learnt loads so I thought I would take the leap.  I was wondering if anyone would be so kind as to give me some feedback on my first two chapters.  The book is a YA time-travel adventure.  I have included chapter 1 and 2 but for information, the main character is on track to see a future version of themselves on the school roof at the beginning of chapter 3.  I find it so hard to assess my own work!  I often wince reading it but have no idea why.  Any comments will be gratefully received.  I send my thanks out in advance.  Hope everyone is having a good weekend.

All the best

Rebecca

0 0 0 0 0 0
Attachments
Replies (20)
    • Hi Rebecca,

No need to be anxious. We're nice here - well, most of us!

I read the first three pages - at close to 5,000 words, there is a great deal here. Your writing is descriptive. In some parts it's spare (lean). In other areas, there are opportunities to lose some words but improve the narrative. Here's an example:

She reached the classroom door.  Pushing her weight against the oak, she entered the classroom. The door hinges shrieked.  

Becomes:

She reached the classroom door, pushed her weight against the oak and its shrieking hinges, and entered.  

It's not much different, but perhaps a bit more streamlined. Also, the hinges have to shriek before she enters.

Another:

Eleanor cast her eyes down to her school bag, sitting on the desk.

Becomes:

Eleanor looked at her school bag (you have already said the bag is on the desk).

The ability to make your point, still powerfully but in the fewest words, was a key learning point for me. It just takes practise.

My other big recommendation is to introduce character dialogue as early as you can. I can't see any in the three pages I read.