Elevator pitch competition last night -- confusion. Jericho, what happened?

Very confused after the elevator pitch competition last night.

It seemed that very few elevator pitches were featured (as to Harry's spec on the Jericho website). Instead longer cover letter blurbs were featured. I studied Harry's page for this and started with an book blurb and honed it down using his advice to under 20 words, in the hope of catching the agents' eyes. I got the impression that the competition would be quick fire elevator pitches liked or disliked in a few words by the agents in words such as, 'great', 'not grammatical', 'boring', 'brilliant', 'like every other thriller', etc etc. And perhaps we'd all be able to put something under the agents' noses for once.  

On this note I'm also finding a lot of the feedback from agents in webinars too 'nice', for example in the Slush Pile Live last week and last night in the elevator pitch competition, I just wanted them to be a bit more honest rather than finding the good in everything. I do appreciate that they kindly don't want to dissuade beginning authors, but I'm finding it difficult to learn what's good and what's not, and surely we all need to develop that famous hard skin? Certainly the response we get from agent one-to-ones is much harsher and the two don't seem correlate.

I wasn't the only one with confusion last night, so I thought I'd bring it up in a public discussion. And to finish, a copy and paste from the Jericho website on how to write an elevator pitch: 

HOW TO WRITE A GREAT BOOK PITCH:

1. Keep it to 20 words or less
  2. Be original
  3. Make it memorable – An astronaut seeking to survive. A woman who fakes her own murder. An ordinary boy – an orphan! – going to an extraordinary school.
  4. The result should make the listener say, “tell me more!”

0 1 0 0 0 0
Replies (21)