Hello, I hear there is coffee and cake?

Hello Everyone, and Festive Greetings to you all.

I'm a newbie to the Townhouse. I heard there was coffee and cake, so thought I'd better pop in and introduce myself before stuffing my face. I'm Rachel, I live in Yorkshire and I'm somewhere in my mid 30's. I'm a bit of a geek, I love Star Wars and superheroes and things like that. My favourite authors are Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman and Ben Aaronovitch, amongst myriad others. As you can tell, I like fantasy and sci-fi. I'm also quite fascinated by mythology (Ancient Greek is my fav), have a fascination with the human mind, and love a bit of true crime. I'm also a Master of Procrastination. Historically I've really struggled to write anything other than short stories, and if I'm being 100% honest with myself, it's because I'm scared of failure, and terrified that people will find my work bland and (shudder) boring. So, I stick with short things that I can easily defend 'oh it was just a short, silly thing' for example... Wuss.

I have been telling stories since I was a very young child, and wrote and illustrated some of my stories when I was in primary school. I will be the first to admit, the illustrations were total crap. I can barely draw a stick man. Over the years, I've written countless short stories, but never really been confident to have anything published. I wrote a play during my degree (Drama) and a few years later, submitted an abridged version to a short play festival. My play was selected from over 100 submissions, and was one of three to be performed.