Feedback on synopsis of my first finished novel, please.

Hello Everyone. I'm new to Jericho Writers and to this Townhouse. However, I just finished my novel and I'm trying to craft a good, coherent 500-word synopsis. It's harder than I thought to condense what I wrote into one paragraph. I would be so grateful to hear your thoughts. Does it make you go, hmmm? Would you be interested in reading the story? If not, could you share what you believe I'm missing? Thank you so much.

0 0 0 0 0 0
Attachments
Replies (13)
  • Hi Yvonne, and welcome,

I thought it sound intriguing but I wondered if you could highlight in the synopsis why Mia had a change of heart and discovered she did love Josh.  Otherwise, I thought it was good and something I’d like to read... maybe, a very small point, but the Dr WHO saved his life, not that, at least in UK English. Good luck with your novel.

0 0 0 0 0 0
    • Thank you. I’ll make that change immediately.

0 0 0 0 0 0
    • Congratulations, Vonne, on completing a novel. That's no mean feat.

Of course, writing a good synopsis can be as challenging as weaving together the full scope of 80-odd thousand words.

Now, I'll admit this isn't a genre I would usually look at, so I can't comment on the story itself - though you have clearly put good thought into that side of things. (There are clues in your synopsis that there is a good story there.)

What i will comment on is the structure you've used.

You open with scene-setting. The first 28 words are pure scenery. They are an attempt to be scinematic. (Aside: this suggests you've probably done the same in the manuscript, not getting to the action fast enough.) Then, after the shark attack, you spend almost 150 words giving Josh's backstory. It is, in effect, fluffy.

Here's my take on rewriting the first 200 of your synopsis (obviously not your voice):