Jon Dixon

Coming back to writing after a long sabbatical. Back when dinosaurs and disco ruled the world I had several short stories published. I'm currently working on the first draft of a fantasy novel influenced by the connected Japanese philosophies of wabi-sabi and kintsugi - the embracing of the flawed or imperfect and the incorporation of visible breakages as an integral part of something of great value. The novel's theme and characters have been lurking in my head for decades and now seem to want to emerge into the light of day. I'm finding the process both exhilarating and terrifying.

I earned my living with an earring and a sword mostly as a professional actor for the first 20 years of my career, and then worked in the far less swashbuckling field of user experience design for the following two decades (no swordplay required). While acting I also worked as a freelance illustrator for paperbacks, role playing games and magazines, and I still keep my hand in with canvas and brushes (or more often now tablet and screen) though nowadays just for my own pleasure. So at least I have accurate reference for my characters' physical appearance!

I live in Derby (UK) as butler and general manservant to an elderly Bengal cat.

Relationships
Empty
Jon Dixon Discussions
  •  · 
Woke up this morning to an email saying that a little piece of micro-fiction I wrote a few months ag…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Thank you! :)
  •  · 
Thought people might be amused by this website. You can upload a piece of your writing for analysis …
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · As Vin says, it seems to go for type. I think it may even go a level of detail lower than that and p…
  •  · 
Hello all.I thought I'd share this extremely useful glossary I found online, of useful terms to use …
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · They would apply to most films as well, wouldn't they
  •  · 
Is anyone else having problems accessing the registration for the March webinars on the members' sit…
  •  · 
  •  ·