Jon Dixon

Coming back to writing after a long sabbatical. Back when dinosaurs and disco ruled the world I had several short stories published. I'm currently working on th4e first draft of a fantasy novel influenced by the connected Japanese philosophies of wabi-sabi and kintsugi - the embracing of the flawed or imperfect and the incorporation of visible breakages as an integral part of something of great value. The novel's theme and characters have been lurking in my head for decades and now seem to want to emerge into the light of day. I'm finding the process both exhilarating and terrifying.

I earned my living with an earring and a sword mostly as a professional actor for the first 20 years of my career, and then worked in the far less swashbuckling field of user experience design for the following two decades (no swordplay required). While acting I also worked as a freelance illustrator for paperbacks, role playing games and magazines, and I still keep my hand in with canvas and brushes (or more often now tablet and screen) though nowadays just for my own pleasure. So at least I have accurate reference for my characters' physical appearance!

I live in Derby (UK) with an elderly Bengal cat and three young(ish) chickens.

Relationships
Empty
My Forums
  •  · 
For anyone who hasn't come across this before (I hadn't) this nice infographic might come in helpful…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Excellent summary Jon! I'm a psychotherapist and I use exactly this explanation with my teenage clie…
  •  · 
I've recently decided to make a couple of major changes to my work-in-progress novel, 'The Perfectio…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Thanks, Irene!
  •  · 
Hi all,I've just come across an article which may be useful in understanding what makes a query stan…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · I read all of this article and as ever I'm pleased to see the eclectic mix of successful letters use…
  •  ·