Jon Dixon

Coming back to writing after a long sabbatical. Back when dinosaurs and disco ruled the world I had several short stories published. I'm currently working on the first draft of a fantasy novel influenced by the connected Japanese philosophies of wabi-sabi and kintsugi - the embracing of the flawed or imperfect and the incorporation of visible breakages as an integral part of something of great value. The novel's theme and characters have been lurking in my head for decades and now seem to want to emerge into the light of day. I'm finding the process both exhilarating and terrifying.

I earned my living with an earring and a sword mostly as a professional actor for the first 20 years of my career, and then worked in the far less swashbuckling field of user experience design for the following two decades (no swordplay required). While acting I also worked as a freelance illustrator for paperbacks, role playing games and magazines, and I still keep my hand in with canvas and brushes (or more often now tablet and screen) though nowadays just for my own pleasure. So at least I have accurate reference for my characters' physical appearance!

I live in Derby (UK).

Relationships
Empty
Jon Dixon Discussions
  •  · 
I found this interesting, in that it's probably something we all do unconsciously, but I'd never see…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Looking at you, Cormac McCarthy. 😂 
  •  · 
Hi all,Sorry for the radio silence in the last week or two. I've not been very well, and energy leve…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Thanks Jaye! 😊 I'm still teasing out Membra's story. Hit a few plot issues which I'm still grappling…
  •  · 
Contractions aren't a problem unless they're.
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Or as Popeye used to say, I'm what I'm!
  •  · 
A friend shared these with me the other day, since I don't do Twitter, where they originally appeare…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Definitely no. 1 and 3, and definitely the internet one, but with the excuse proviso that 'it's for …
  •  ·