Jon Dixon

Coming back to writing after a long sabbatical. Back when dinosaurs and disco ruled the world I had several short stories published. I'm currently working on th4e first draft of a fantasy novel influenced by the connected Japanese philosophies of wabi-sabi and kintsugi - the embracing of the flawed or imperfect and the incorporation of visible breakages as an integral part of something of great value. The novel's theme and characters have been lurking in my head for decades and now seem to want to emerge into the light of day. I'm finding the process both exhilarating and terrifying.

I earned my living with an earring and a sword mostly as a professional actor for the first 20 years of my career, and then worked in the far less swashbuckling field of user experience design for the following two decades (no swordplay required). While acting I also worked as a freelance illustrator for paperbacks, role playing games and magazines, and I still keep my hand in with canvas and brushes (or more often now tablet and screen) though nowadays just for my own pleasure. So at least I have accurate reference for my characters' physical appearance!

I live in Derby (UK) with an elderly Bengal cat and three young(ish) chickens.

Relationships
Empty
Jon Dixon Discussions
  •  · 
Is anyone else having problems accessing the registration for the March webinars on the members' sit…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Thanks, Holly! 🙂 
  •  · 
Here’s a thought. Tonight, just after twenty past 9, wherever we are and whatever time-zone we're in…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Ha ha ha. The tiny pleasures that occupy our tiny minds. Some of us anyway = Jon. Enjoy your sip of …
  •  · 
For anyone who hasn't come across this before (I hadn't) this nice infographic might come in helpful…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · So it was Reg who invented the emotion wheel.
  •  · 
I've recently decided to make a couple of major changes to my work-in-progress novel, 'The Perfectio…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Thanks, Irene!