Milla Reed

I have six non-fiction titles in print, all easy access, work related stuff. I'm not bad at taking info and turning it into short sharp paragraphs for busy people. I've been lucky - my first co-authored book  (The One to One Toolkit, Julie Cooper/Ann Reynolds) filled a gap in the market and remains on reading lists for training providers and some Universities.

I had this hare brained idea of trying my hand at  writing novels when I retire - commercial women's fiction is probably all I'm good for.  I've studied the art of storytelling a little for my work (I'm a trainer. I tell a lot of stories). So I've written a fair bit and I tell stories. I have not much clue how well this equips me for writing fiction. I know it's a challenge to get an agent, so in case I end up self publishing,  I thought I'd write three novels, so that each can contain a teaser for the others. (I know a bit about self publishing. My first publisher went bust, and after some tortuous journeys looking at the options I decided to do it myself. There is a cupboard full of stock downstairs, and a Post Office a stone's throw away).

The first story in my head was pretty insistent so it got written. It is edited, polished as best I can. When  the lockdown came, I saw agents calling for submissions, so I got a wiggle on and sent a query out to a few. I didn't want to be part of the post-corona deluge.  I had my first rejection very quickly, which strangely didn't feel bad at all. All par for the course.  I hope it makes me part of some special club. I'm almost embarrassed to admit that  due to lockdown time, Novel 2 it is now written and I am now editing the first draft. And I'm still four years at least from retiring.

I live in a village about half an hour from Oxford.

Milla Reed is a pseudonym as I think it's sensible to keep the fiction from the non-fiction.

Relationships
Empty
Milla Reed Discussions
  •  ·