Eric Lockeyear

I'm a former colonial cop and international governance consultant. Now finally retired, (just a couple of years ago), I'm trying my hand at writing to keep the old grey cells alive. I have plenty of experience of official writing, but fiction is completely new.

My first attempt, about 100,000 words in, is the story of a Hong Kong police inspector working as an interrogator in the spillover of China's Cultural Revolution in 1967. He is alo embroiled in an illicit love affair and trying to cope with the murder of his wife. 

It probably won't take much thought to work out that the story is at least partly autobiographical.

Any comments or offers to share/critique most welcome.

Relationships
Empty

I'm more of a whisky soda man. I know the feeling, but finally retired from consulting out of a suitcase a few years ago. A working life spanning 60 years seemed long enough.

Yes, I was, but I'm not sure of the relevance. A long time ago, I was a senior police officer in Her Majesty's Overseas Civil Service, serving in Hong Kong. Nothing to do with the present regime there. Also, nothing to do with recent (or past events) in this country. I suggest your "Sigh" comment is a bit OTT.

I repeat the last sentence of my previous post, " It may not be the world we would like but it reflects reality." 

I mostly agree with this. I am a keen sailor and know about boats. It sticks out like a sore thumb when an author refers to some aspect of sailing in a way that reflects blatently on their ignorance.

However, taken to its logical extreme, we would only be able to write single-sex books. Mentioning the other sex (gender?) would be taboo, as the way they think and act is beyond our experience (and, often, understanding!).