Alan Drwm

A father of three and grandfather to a few.

I live in north Wales surrounded by megalithic tombs and henge monuments. These are the main focus of my current writing.

At heart I'm just a story-teller.

By profession I am a cartographer.

By obsession I'm a frame drummer.

Relationships
Empty
Alan Drwm Discussions
  •  · 
  •  · 
My first novel, so unsure about the effectiveness of my pitch. Narrowed it down to two possibilities…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Returning to my original post, my revised strap line is:-A girl who is the product of two races, mee…

Wow! Delighted that you are about to let the world see what you have written.  Your title is intriguing. My problem with writing a book is that I'm a storyteller myself.  I've found that the spoken word and the written word don't easily translate from one to the other.  Let me know who the publisher is and I'll certainly buy a copy. Keep me posted. 

Alan Drwm

Hi Lynn, good to hear from you.

The option to self publish is on the back burner until I see how my agent submissions go.  If I get repeated rejections then I will look for alternatives.  My story though has some publishing disadvantages that agents and publishers might find daunting.  Firstly it is very long, some 240,000 words whereas the recommended length for a first time author is in the region of 80,000 to 100,000. Secondly it covers an era that not many people are interested in, the late Neolithic.  Bronze age waring tribes and metal weaponry are far more de rigueur these days.  But this is a story that my head demanded that I write. I live in the area where most of it is set, surrounded by neolithic tombs and henges.

The book cover I have worked on is just a trial. The pattered symbol across the front and back is the Token Stone of the title. A real book cover designer will obviously come up with something better, but these are the elements I would like it to include.