David A. Strong, Jr.

I am a retired community college professor from Tennessee. I taught for over 35 years at Dyersburg State Community College in Tennessee. My favorite course was always World Civilization- a two semester survey of global civilization from ancient times to the present.

When I retired, I looked around for something to keep me occupied. A great friend of mine- Hal Poe- encouraged me to come to Oxford- which I did. I have always wanted to write, but a busy life kept me from pursuing this dream. Besides teaching, I was a soldier first in the regular army and then in the Tennessee Army National Guard for some 37 years. Now however I have both the time and the inclination.

Relationships
Empty

Glyn- I finally had time to read your story.  I think this story is told with so much compassion, but I don't have a good answer to your question.  I'm an American.  My son-in-law is an Egyptian Muslim who immigrated when he was fourteen and has adapted well to American life despite all the potential problems.  He is the father of my two beautiful grandchildren.  I find myself trying to put myself in his shoes, but I can't.

Why don't you have a Muslim friend read the story for you?  I think it is a story that should be told.

A positive- my surgery is done and I am continuing to recover nicely-

A negative- I've literally made no progress on my novel-

So given the above- here is my goal for September:

I will return to writing and will develop an outline for my work in an attempt to develop a sense of direction.  Ultimately, I see this to be three volumes flowing over several generations from the Roman withdrawal from Britain to the Anglo-Saxon onslaught in the fifth and sixth centuries.  Let's see where I get-

Good afternoon, friends- my surgery is done and I'm in physical therapy now.  I'm ready to get back to work on a reduced schedule.  One of the advantages of retirement- you are tied to no one's schedule.