Mary Kistel

Hi, Jericho Members—looking forward to being part of your community. Struggling a little bit setting this up, but hopefully I’ve got it now. I’m an ex-high school English teacher turned grandson tutor and loving the free time to finally write—in the throes of an historical fiction novel now. I live in Fort Myers, Florida but was drawn to your group because I spent 10 years in England growing up in the Oxford area—lived in Chacombe and Chesterton—and attended Brackley Girls High School in the early 70’s. Yes, I’m ancient. 

Relationships
Empty

Thank you for this post. The only Koontz novel I’ve read was The Watchers. I felt manipulated, though the concept of dogs with high IQs was fascinating. My Sheltie is brilliant—but these dogs were over the top. That novel was over the top, and the definition in the first paragraph of this one seems a little arrogant to me. I love Colorado but not tempted to read this story.

Added a comment to Six Poles 

This makes me laugh—my favorite thing on ”chips” is the Brit salt & vinegar.

Interesting blog as usual, Harry! Just read Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano and was amazed at how effectively she head hopped. Chapter 1 covers passengers boarding an airplane and the reader enters the thoughts of at least twelve passengers and learns about all the people and situations they’re thinking about as they’re seated. In Chapter 2 we enter the head of a rescue worker at the scene of that plane’s crash with only one survivor—youngest boy from a family of four. The rest of the novel is in Edward’s head and how he copes—alternating with continued chapters of the soon-to-be dead passengers thoughts right up to the point of their crash. The reader is not allowed to write them off (as I started to once I knew they were dead) and all the information has connections and a point—and the point is to care.