Sarah L

I've written a middle-grade mystery book, the first in a trilogy. I'm planning to self-publish it in May 2022 and it will be my debut published novel. In the past, I have written historical fiction as well and I definitely think I will again in the future.

I'm a freelance editor (school textbooks, not exciting fiction!) living in Buckinghamshire, UK. You can follow my writing news on @sarahlbooks on Instagram and Twitter.

Relationships
Empty

I definitely think it's worth having a website early on. A friend pointed out to me that it takes time for Google to 'find' (can't remember proper digital term) your website, so the earlier you start the more chance readers have of finding it when the time comes. At the start it probably only needs to be simple. I also think it helps to do it when you're not knee-deep in actual self-publishing tasks. Much easier to update a website you already have than to start from scratch when you're working on book edits and cover designs.

Oh great, hopefully that will help you get reviews. It's definitely taken a few weeks for me. I think I had one review after one week, but since then they have dribbled through slowly. It's been up for nearly a month now. It seems to me that the review rate is about 10%, i.e. if you get 10 people requesting the book, then you are likely to get one review. It could vary a lot between genres though. I've only done it once, so not a lot to go on yet!

What a great review! Congratulations. 

Have you thought about joining a NetGalley co-op? I joined this one https://victoryediting.com/services/netgalley-co-op/ for one month ($50) and that has got reviews going on my book. I definitely recommend it as a way of reaching potential readers.

Hi Naomi! Fellow middle-grade author here Would be great to connect and share words of wisdom with each other! 

Sarah

Congrats Helen! Great result and very inspiring 🙂 

Glad it helped, Peter. A glossary sounds like a great idea too!

Hi Pete,