DavidWhite

Unpublished writer, but not for want of trying. I started writing on impulse and ejoyed it. I now want to share it with the world, i.e. publish it, but have found that to be a bigger job than writing a novel.

Relationships
Empty
DavidWhite Discussions
  •  · 
Hello, I'm new to Jerico,enjoying "getting published" month so far and so far quite impressed with t…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · David, I’ve read it now and I like it. I think if it’s going to be followed by them later in their l…

Hi Nick,

I agree the reaper statue is a real draw, but I do like the crescendo, starting from normality, revealing the fantasy elements one by one and ending with the hook, "what did she miss?"

If you were going to do radical surgery, the Ferrymans' appearance, although obviously germane to the rest of the story, is a distraction to me here.

A great concept and nicely paced, so far, but then IK like slow writing. I agree that the father and daughter need to be doing something more than going to the office.

Hi Miriam,

I think it flows nicely and all the elements sit together nicely.

You can polish a story forever, and I've added a couple more comments, but it is just nitpicking really. 

David

Good point, maybe I've been lucky so far, I got into it in a roundabout way from a beta reader I found on Goodreads. She is very good, but only does sub-6k word segments. Critting other people's work is a great learning tool, although actually applying it to my writing is another skill I'm only just starting to acquire.

I've also found you can join too many communities, two is plenty (JW and CC). More, and it gets in the way of writing, which is not the idea. Beware of online displacement activities, and get back to the real writing! :)

Added a comment to Titles