Alison

Hi everyone, I am a writer, former PR, keen gardener. I'm getting ready to query my novel - The River House Mythology - a supernatural family mystery set in Jamaica. I've recently joined Jericho Writers and intend to make the most of all the wonderful content in the coming months.

Relationships
Empty
Alison Discussions
  •  · 
Hello everyoneIt's time to post my synopsis - argh - really for a 'does this make sense' read at thi…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Hi David - thanks for your suggestions, they are helpful edits. I've tried to be succinct without ta…
  •  · 
Hi everyoneWhile I'm taking a break from editing the complete manuscript, here I am taking the plung…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Hi Donna Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, all most useful. I have re-worked the first…

Hi Iren

I liked your chapters and descriptions and am not going to comment on specifics as others have already done so comprehensively. I read your pages when you posted and thought you may be interested in what sticks in my mind now. The opening gives a little tease of the synaesthesia and I think you could make more of this from the start, it's unusual and seems a good 'hook' to draw in readers. I'm wary of suggesting this as others have suggested that I change where my own story starts and that sent me down a rabbit hole for quite a while! - but maybe you could have an incident that occurs before the character goes back to the house that introduces us to the suffering she's been experiencing. Only a suggestion of course, perhaps you prefer to keep the mystery element for a while longer? I also wanted to know a little more about what she is thinking and feeling when she's driving up to the village. Much good luck with your further edits, it's an intriguing premise and I'd definitely read more! 

Hi Julia