Alison

Hi everyone, I am a writer, former PR, keen gardener. I'm getting ready to query my novel - The River House Mythology - a supernatural family mystery set in Jamaica. I've recently joined Jericho Writers and intend to make the most of all the wonderful content in the coming months.

Relationships
Empty
Alison Discussions
  •  · 
Hello everyoneIt's time to post my synopsis - argh - really for a 'does this make sense' read at thi…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Hi David - thanks for your suggestions, they are helpful edits. I've tried to be succinct without ta…
  •  · 
Hi everyoneWhile I'm taking a break from editing the complete manuscript, here I am taking the plung…
  •  · 
  •  · 
  •  · Hi Donna Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, all most useful. I have re-worked the first…

Hi Ben 

From a reader's perspective, the 99p deals on Kindle are a great way to find new reads/new authors, so why not. 

Congratulations Julie, that's great news. Definitely time for querying now!

Hi Chele

I've been checking this too, I'm six hours behind UK. I think it is midnight their time - very late for them after a bank holiday!

Hi Iris

I think Laure's comments will help add an element of mystery/intrigue to your query, at the moment it feels like you're telling us too much. The concept sounds like the kind of book I read, sometimes it seems writing the query is harder than the book!

Added a comment to Bad adverbs 

If we made a list of all the 'do this, cut this, don't do that' advice and applied it to our wip then the life would be beaten out of many great stories. Take all the advice on board and then apply cautiously (ha! another one!), sometimes an adverb is the right choice - and as others have said, there are plenty of published works that prove this.